Carlos Ortega

About Me
My name is Carlos Ortega. I'm a 7-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 31, 2013.
Geography
Sponsorship Program

Children's Center

Family Status

Single Mother, 2 Children

Siblings

Valeria

Favorite Things

Coloring and playing with cars at CDL!

My Story

Carlitos is the oldest child from single mother Iris attending daily at Casa de Luz. He also has a baby sister named Valeria who attends CDL with him daily. Carlitos is a very friendly little boy. He has absolutely loved being at CDL and playing with the toys and the other little kids. Carlos and Valeria's Mom Iris came to Casa de Luz asking for help in the fall of 2015, after she separated from her husband due to his drug addiction and neglect of his family. When Iris first separated from her husband, she had no where to live and wasn't able to provide for her children, and they were going hungry. She and her children have been living with Iris' family temporarily while Iris saves money to put as a downpayment on a lot. Iris works as a gas station attendant. She works 6 days a week, 7 am - 5 pm and earns 1000 pesos per week (approximately $80 CDN per week). Iris came to CDL asking for help as she had recently started working, and she had no one to care for her children while she worked. Iris told us that her dream is to "move forward, and work hard, so that my children can have the future that they deserve and where we don't depend on anyone." When we interviewed Iris and gave her the news that her children would be accepted into Casa de Luz, she was overwhelmed and cried tears of thankfulness! Soon she will also be enrolling in our on-site Education Completion program, so that she can work towards finishing her high school education with us. We are so thankful that God has given us the opportunity to partner with this family, and we are excited to see all that God is going to do in and through them.